Church Leadership Elections 2020

Whetstone Baptist Church is served by a leadership team made up of around 12 members of the church and our three ministers.

The church leaders are the charity trustees, and are responsible for the governance of the church as well as its spiritual life.

Elections take place each year. Members will vote for this year's candidates at our Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 1 April 2020.

Read on to find out more about the election process.

Four people locking hands in a cross

Church Leadership Team (CLT)

Each leader is responsible for one or more areas of church life. Their role is to encourage, envision, value and support the ministry leaders and teams in our church.

CLT elections 2020

Each CLT member serves for a maximum of six years in two three-year terms. Each year at our AGM the members elect the new group of leaders. None of the current 10 CLT members have reached the end of a term or need to re-stand at this election. This year there will be three vacant places to be filled.

Find out more about the current CLT members on the CLT page.


Church members can nominate other church members.

Nominations closed on 23 February 2020. The CLT speaks to each suitable candidate to discuss if they are willing to stand, and then produces a shortlist of candidates and with some details about them for the members to consider. Members vote at the AGM on 1 April, and candidates voted for by two thirds of those members present at the meeting, gain a place.

If you would like to discuss any of the roles carried out by CLT, or you are interested in serving the church in another way, please speak to any one of the CLT or look at the serving page.

Page last updated: 1 March 2020